Page 30 of 33

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 4:05 pm
by Douglas Collier
I keep losing connection whenever I try to log in.
I’ve already turned the chunk render distance to minimum (2 chunks), and I know it’s not connection speed - I have Google Fiber. I’m wondering if it’s server related?

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 5:43 pm
by Buster
if it was on the server end, wouldn't the rest of us be hitting that problem too though? even if I unhook Optifine I can still run at 'extreme' render distance just fine, Yellowcrash was on with me earlier, and we managed to get Silver's connection working a while ago by halfing their render distance. Silver and i were on when you were trying to log in.

that's two people online today without issues and one with a viable workaround. general server problems seem unlikely... maybe it's a bad chunk? what were your last known coordinates? I was able to rule that out with silver cause i could see the character model spawn every time login was atempted, a bad chunk would have effected me too, but i never did see where you were spawning...

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:09 pm
by dusk
My username is somejolty if anyone would like to add me to the whitelist. If not, that's fine.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:09 pm
by Douglas Collier
I haven’t been on in a long time - probably not since 1.8 :?
Not sure where I am.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:34 pm
by Buster
there's been a LOT of construction, and a few inventory changes... maybe you've got a corrupted item or are in an invalid location?

maybe if Invisan backed up your character file, and reset the original...

i dunno, i'm grasping at straws.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:59 pm
by Douglas Collier
I wouldn’t mind losing my inventory if it means I can play on the server again.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:27 pm
by Obbl
Jolty-Kun wrote:My username is somejolty if anyone would like to add me to the whitelist. If not, that's fine.
As a friendly note, this is a very passive aggressive way of making an otherwise perfectly reasonable request. If you want to join, then say you want to join, and ask to be added :D

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:08 am
by dusk
The reason I phrased it the way I did was because sometimes people are busy, and I respect that. I didn't know exactly who was on, or what was going on at the moment, so I was fine if I didn't get added right away, or at all due to whatever issues the server may be having. I wasn't trying to be threatening, just making a request. But whatever, I'll make sure not to in the future.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:50 pm
by Invisan
According to the Serverlogs he is losing the connection. Dunno why though.
Douglas Collier wrote:I wouldn’t mind losing my inventory if it means I can play on the server again.
Backuped your file. Try again.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:07 pm
by Douglas Collier
I still can’t get in. It is still on version 1.12.2, right?

EDIT: I restarted my computer, and on my Minecraft Launcher, there was a little message that said “The login server is down” with a frown face. Maybe this is related to my problem? It seems to be gone now, but still...

Also, I now occasionally get a message showing the movement controls whenever I try to log in.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:15 pm
by Buster
So... i watched you fail to log in like eight times tonight...
Looks like Plan C didn't work...

anybody got a Plan D? cause i'm out of ideas.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:13 am
by GameCobra
Sounds like you are just having trouble downloading maps from the server. Does it happen on other servers or just the Housepets one?

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:34 am
by Douglas Collier
I have been having trouble with another server I’m on. But I’m usually able to log in, at least for a little bit, before it kicks me. It takes forever for the terrain to load, and I’m basically a ghost (can’t permanently interact with objects), and usually kicks me soon after it loads. I get the same “Connection Lost”, but the message it gives me for that server is “Internal Exception: java.io.IOException: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host”.

It occasionally works when my friend reboots the server.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:09 am
by Buster
are you behind a vpn or proxy of any kind? if so, is there any difference between it being on or off?
Same for firewalls and anti-intrusion software.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:14 am
by Douglas Collier
I might have a blocker on that’s messing with it, but I can’t be sure.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:45 am
by Buster
well, the problem you're having (stuck at loading terrain) is usually the result of running out of memory before the world can finish loading, which is why reducing the render distance usually works. less memory being eaten up by buffered chunks. if it happens in single player you'll actually get an out of memory error when the world crashes, but this being multiplayer it just disconnects instead.
barring it trying to load something invalid/unloadable, which you just eliminated, reducing the strain on the clientprogram is usually enough.

so if we assume they've got enough memory to load, and nothing's invalid or corrupt, then what else does it leave besides the data getting stopped before it gets from server to client?

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:57 am
by GameCobra
Just to be on the safe side, try a cleanboot. It safely disables all of your apps and start-up apps on the PC. This helps find out if it's the PC.

type in msconfig in your search box on the computer to bring up System Configuration. You'll then see Normal and Selective Start-up. Check Selective Start-up and uncheck "Load start-up items". Then go to the services tab and check "hide all microsoft services". After that, hit the button that says "Disable all". save the changes and reboot the PC and then try Minecraft. If it works fine afterwards, you got something blocking the game. After you are done testing, make sure you check Normal start-up again once you are finished. (unless you wanna leave it this way to play the game, that's fine.)

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:54 am
by tsMKG
Spiders always kill me because they always take advantage of the lag I have :x (It's like they stop mid-air without any hitbox and then they literally oliberate me the next time they move [Taking out all of my hearts at ONCE] )

Also, ¿does anyone have any maps of the last time I died? :|

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:06 am
by Buster
can you find anything familiar on the big map i posted (click to enlarge)

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:11 am
by dusk
I probably should go to the library this weekend, I may be able to see if I can log on to play....

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:05 am
by TheSilverFox51
tsMKG wrote:Spiders always kill me because they always take advantage of the lag I have :x (It's like they stop mid-air without any hitbox and then they literally oliberate me the next time they move [Taking out all of my hearts at ONCE] )

Also, ¿does anyone have any maps of the last time I died? :|
I have lag with mobs too, I find it helpful to have a shield and wait for a "THUNK" noise, then slice them

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:30 pm
by Buster
this is why a bow is a FAR better weapon than a sword in multiplayer. kill em while they're still idle and stationary a safe distance away.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:41 pm
by tsMKG
Okay, I found the cave I was exploring, pot torches on the outside part to indentify them and also explored some other caves.

Also, in some case, you don't have too many arrows (I've wasted all my five arrows killing a creeper).

I should start to find where do chickens live (And how to get feathers instead of eggs if possible) :geek:

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:48 pm
by Buster
chickens drop eggs randomly while alive, not from being killed. they drop feathers and meat when you kill them. you can feed them seeds to breed more.
once you have four or five arrows, start hunting skeletons. you'll accumulate arrows WAY faster from hem than by making them.
also always draw the bow string all the way back (takes about 3sec.) so you'll do max damage.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:56 am
by 20dka
Hey everybody! I'm new to this forum but have been a reader for 2 years now and I just noticed this server! Is it running? I can't seem to join it using the IP.
Do I need an original copy of MC to join? If so please whitelist Asdolok.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 1:53 pm
by TheSilverFox51
20dka wrote:Hey everybody! I'm new to this forum but have been a reader for 2 years now and I just noticed this server! Is it running? I can't seem to join it using the IP.
Do I need an original copy of MC to join? If so please whitelist Asdolok.
You need to be whitelisted, give your username and someone will add you

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:13 pm
by Douglas Collier
Thanks for the advice, GC! I’m officially back on the server. Starting a new castle on the big grassland island just south of the southwest savanna. (Donations of cobblestone would be appreciated).

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:23 pm
by TheSilverFox51
Douglas Collier wrote:Thanks for the advice, GC! I’m officially back on the server. Starting a new castle on the big grassland island just south of the southwest savanna. (Donations of cobblestone would be appreciated).
Nice! See you in a week or so :)

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:32 pm
by CHAOKOCartoons
I am once again surprised and impressed to see that this is still active. How's it goin' by the way? Who was in charge of the whitelist?

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:22 pm
by Hlaoroo
Me and Render are OPs and Invisan is the server admin currently.
I think there were one or two other OPs but I can't remember who they were now, sorry.

Jolty and 20dka, you're both added. Sorry for the delay.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:03 am
by CHAOKOCartoons
Now that the server has been brought to my attention then, I've added a minepets text and voicechat to the Semi-Official Housepets! discord. Feel free to stop on by if you wanna chat with other HP fans while you play, or talk about the server and post screen shots!

The SOHP Server

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:38 pm
by CyberDragon
I just got Minecraft and I'd like to join the server. My username is CyberDragon_614.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:29 am
by SuperStar
Eyo, looking to be whitelisted. My MC name is Raioes.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:17 am
by Invisan
Done and Done.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:06 pm
by biddyfox
Could i be whitelisted? My username is "biddyfox", like on here.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:16 am
by Hlaoroo
Done. Welcome to the server!

Remember no griefing, no building too close to anyone else, and follow the forum rules on the server. ^^

Have fun!

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:31 am
by Invisan
Aaaand no cheating vor trying to use Blocks which are none vanilla. ;)

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:20 pm
by Not A Furry
Invisan wrote:or trying to use Blocks which are none vanilla. ;)
how would you manage to do that lol

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:27 pm
by Buster
Command injection mods to create 'glitched' blocks mostly.
unless theres a method vis is aware of that i'm not.

Re: Housecraft! (or Minepets!)

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:10 am
by Invisan
If i remember correctly there are or were tools available which let you add blocks of your choosing to your inventory.
Dunno if that was in local mode only but im quite sure this can be done online as well.